2nd Institute of Physics B

Welcome to the web page of the 2nd Institute of Physics B at RWTH Aachen University. The institute consists of two scientific groups head by Prof. Markus Morgenstern (“Electron Systems at the Atomic Scale”) and Prof. Uwe Klemradt (“X-ray scattering and phase transitions”). It is, moreover, coordinator of the DFG research group 912 “Spin relaxation and coherence” and part of JARA-FIT (J√ľlich Aachen Research Alliance: Fundamentals of Future Information Technology).

Our research is focused on the investigation of low dimensional electron systems at the atomic scale. The image shows a topological edge state of the weak topological insulator Bi14Rh3I9 (Nat. Phys. 11, 338 (2015).).
Pseudomagnetic fields of order 1000T have been produced by lifting graphene intentionally with an STM tip. The fields are probed by pseudospin polarization, i.e. the imbalance of electron density on the two sublattices (Nano Lett. (2017).).
The nodes responsible for the quantum mechanical distinction of different Landau levels have been spotted directly by fixing Landau level wave functions to a potential valley (Phys. Rev. Lett. 118, 16803 (2017).).
Creation of edge free quantums dots in commensurate graphene on BN exhibiting orbital and valley splittings (Nano Lett. 16, 5798 (2016).).
Cartography of the Spin-Orbit-Interaction. Spatially resolved imaging of the Rashba parameter by scanning tunneling microscopy (Nat. Phys. 12, 920-925 (2016)).
Contact details of all members of our institute can be found here.
Explore our measurement equipment.
Learn more about the facilities of the 2nd Institute of Physics.

Contact

II. Physikalisches Institut B, RWTH-Aachen University,
Otto-Blumenthal-Stra√üe ‚Äď Turm 28, 52062 Aachen

Institute Director:

Prof. Dr. M. Morgenstern
Office: 28C 304 (3. Etage)
Phone: +49 241 80-27076
Fax: +49 241 80-22306
Mail: mmorgens@physik.rwth-aachen.de

Secretariat:

Beate Nagel
Office: 28 C 301.2
Phone: +49 241 80 27075
Fax: +49 241 80 22306
Mail: nagel@physik.rwth-aachen.de

II. Physikalisches Institut B

Willkommen auf der Webseite des II. Physikalischen Instituts B der RWTH Aachen. Unser Institut besteht aus den Arbeitsgruppen von Prof. Dr. Markus Morgenstern (Elektronensysteme auf atomarer Skala) sowie Prof. Dr. Uwe Klemradt (R√∂ntgenstreuung und Phasenumwandlungen). Es ist zus√§tzlich Koordinator der DFG Forschergruppe 912 ‚ÄúSpinrelaxation und -koh√§renz‚ÄĚ und Teil von JARA-FIT (J√ľlich Aachen Research Alliance: Fundamentals of Future Information Technology).

Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Untersuchung von niederdimensionalen Elektronensystemen auf atomarer Skala. Das Bild zeigt einen topologischen Randzustand des schwachen topologischen Isolators Bi14Rh3I9 (Nat. Phys. 11, 338 (2015).).
Pseudo-Magnetfelder der Größenordnung 1000T konnten durch gezieltes Anheben von Graphen mit der STM-Spitze erzeugt werden und durch die Pseudospin-Polarisation, d.h. die ungleiche Elektronendichte auf den Untergittern, nachgewiesen werden (Nano Lett. (2017).).
Knoten, die f√ľr die quantenmeschanische Unterscheidung verschiedener Landau-Niveaus verantwortlich sind, wurden direkt abgebildet durch die Fixierung von Landau-Wellenfunktionen in einem Potentialtal (Phys. Rev. Lett. 118, 16803 (2017).).
Randlose Quantenpunkten in kommensurablem Graphen auf BN mit orbitalen- und Valleyaufspaltungen (Nano Lett. 16, 5798 (2016).).
Kartografie der Spin-Bahn-Wechselwirkung. Ortsaufgelöste Abbildung des Rashba-Effektes mittels Rastertunnelmikroskopie (Nat. Phys. 12, 920-925 (2016)).
Alle Mitarbeiter unseres Instituts finden Sie hier.
Nähere Informationen zu unseren Messapparaturen finden Sie hier.
Infos √ľber weitere Einrichtungen des II. Physikalischen Instituts.

Kontakt

II. Physikalisches Institut B der RWTH Aachen
Physikzentrum Seffent-Melaten – Turm 28, 3. Etage
Otto-Blumenthal-Straße
52074 Aachen

Institutsleiter:

Prof. Dr. Markus Morgenstern
Raum: 28 C 304
Telefon: +49 241 80-27076
Telefax: +49 241 80-22306
Mail: mmorgens@physik.rwth-aachen.de

Sekretariat:

Beate Nagel
Raum 28 C 301.2
Telefon: +49 241 80-27075
Telefax: +49 241 80-22306
Mail: nagel@physik.rwth-aachen.de