2nd Institute of Physics B

Welcome to the web page of the 2nd Institute of Physics B at RWTH Aachen University. The institute consists of two scientific groups head by Prof. Markus Morgenstern (“Electron Systems at the Atomic Scale”) and Prof. Uwe Klemradt (“X-ray scattering and phase transitions”). It is, moreover, coordinator of the DFG research group 912 “Spin relaxation and coherence” and part of JARA-FIT (J√ľlich Aachen Research Alliance: Fundamentals of Future Information Technology).

Our research is focused on the investigation of low dimensional electron systems at the atomic scale.
Explore our measurement equipment.
Learn more about the facilities of the 2nd Institute of Physics.
Contact details of all members of our institute can be found here.


II. Physikalisches Institut B, RWTH-Aachen University,
Otto-Blumenthal-Stra√üe ‚Äď Turm 28, 52062 Aachen

Institute Director:

Prof. Dr. M. Morgenstern
Office: 28C 304 (3. Etage)
Phone: +49 241 80-27076
Fax: +49 241 80-22306
Mail: mmorgens@physik.rwth-aachen.de


Beate Nagel
Office: 28 C 301.2
Phone: +49 241 80 27075
Fax: +49 241 80 22306
Mail: nagel@physik.rwth-aachen.de